=209= Comfort Songs: Elephant Kind

Today was good! Watched my first show in Esplanade. It was at the outdoor theater and it had three sets featuring two bands. The contrast between the two bands was DRASTIC.

Let me start with the bad one. Well, it is not kind to condemn a band, so I shall refrain from using their name; so let us call them B. B had two sets, the opening and ending sets. When they first came on stage and played the first thing anyone noticed was that they were LOUD; too loud. Could be because of the mix, but it got really annoying and it got to a point one customer of the bar had to come and tell the sound guy to lower their volumes because they were so loud the guy couldn’t have a proper conversation in the bar. Next thing you will see is that B has a huge lack of dynamics. The drummer had two levels; open hihat and crashing ride cymbal. They had no idea how jarring the sound was. If they added some dynamics it would have been ten times better! I felt really tired for the band to be driving that much all the time. The drummer’s crescendo build up was just a blast beat. Next, the vocals was very muffled. At first I thought that it was the drums covering everything, but then when the second set came on and the sound was better, it was still bad. Perhaps they will need some mic/vocal lesson! Then, they had very bad transitions between songs, always the guitarist saying, “The next song is….” I mean come on! Interact with the audience! Crack some jokes! I really do think that many people in this industry needs to be educated on MC-ing. On Tues, there was also a very bad MC. He tried to interact with the audience at the end without interacting with them first in the beginning. That made him fail badly! He said, “from which movie?” No one answered. Then he made it awkward again by asking, “which movie?” No response again. Then finally he gave up, saying, “do I hear frozen?” Making it still awkward. Oh well back to B. However, to give them credit, they had really wonderful instrumentals! Like the guitar riffs were cool and the bass lines and the drums was quite tight! It was just very tiring to hear the same level of hype and energy over and over for like 45 minutes… 😦

Now to the AWESOME one! I am SOOOO glad I was there today! The band was called, “Elephant Kind”! WOW! Such an amazing band! They started the set with a Mac book track. Then they slowly layered in and it caught on with a catchy melody! Then they had wonderful transistions! The lead singer was funny, constantly making jokes and witty remarks! I rather enjoyed that they told us that they were a four piece but one of their members couldn’t make it, so they replaced him with a Mac book! Saying that it(MacBook) was genius, Steve Jobs 👍! Then let me get to their songs! WOW! Something so new, a bit of folkish melody with a bit of electronica with a bit of old school rock guitar riffs, pieced and arranged so well together! They had so much new things going on! The drummer played like awesome sextuplets grooves and accent grooves(something simple but I have never thought of before)! The dynamics was definitely better! The drummer sometimes do hit too hard sometimes, but it was justified by the amazing music being played! Then the lights! Wow! Bear is a GREAT light man! The different patterns and shutter off/on was perfect. Especially one part when the band was going at a instrumental! Beat managed to have the lights come on with perfect timing! Throughout the entire set I was bobbing my head up and down! They played so well together! I felt like their 45 minutes set was too short man. I was so sad that they had to leave and B was back on… 😦 they had me totally entertained and I am extremely stoked! I am still kicking myself for not buying their music EP until it ran out! 😦 to make it worse, it is $5 only… 😦 why was I so stupid? 😦 I am thankful however that I am having my friends buy it for me in their set tmr! Hopefully, I will get mine signed as well! I have great hopes for this band! If they continue at it they will become big for sure!

Amazing! Lord, bless me with more capacity to play drums! Allow me to learn the parts of the albums when I get it! Thank you for inspiring me! 🙂

-Kelvin-

One thought on “=209= Comfort Songs: Elephant Kind”

Leave a Reply

