=256= Worship on/off Stage: Murphy’s Law Set

Whatever that can go wrong went wrong with this set and has set the bar of how Furama it can get!

In the ministry, we have a running joke about Furama, because equipment often go wrong there—mainly because there is a need of setting up and tearing down every week, more factors just goes wrong and leaving almost no time to troubleshoot—we would just blame it on the place. During debrief we would just use the reason, “Furama”. However to give Furama some credit, I actually like how worship is in that room. I remembered that in the G1 Hall, the sound was REALLY loud… G2 manages to get it quite alright, but having to change to a location with soft worship sets is quite nice! 🙂 I do think that Furama will be perfect for Acoustics sets though! It is very good! 🙂

Ok back to the Murphy’s Law set. During soundcheck, we noticed something Pop-ing and malfunctioning. My hi-hat trigger seemed to have some back sound. We off the drum set and reset it, so we thought that it was alright! However, that wasn’t the case at all…

Somewhere during the second song my drum set just stopped giving sound. I had absolutely no idea what to do. I mean, if I stop playing, what if it comes back on? If I don’t stop the how to solve the problem. I thought that it was the snare trigger at first, but the cable was in, so yeah… Then Leb came up and checked, still no sound. Then we have no idea what was wrong, but something was giving us a problem. Then during the transition to the third song we kinda had sound, but the trigger just blew on us and made a super loud blow on the speakers. Well, after it happened for two times, I went to the hi-hat to keep time, but it blew again. -sigh- Bro Choo did a fantastic job recovering from the blows and addressed the congregation.

Leb was very calm throughout and told me that we do not know if the problem was due to the connection at the drum set or the connection at the patch bay(at least that is what I think it was called). Then, I just told Leb that I don’t play anything lor. I mean if I do and it pops again I am hindering people from worshiping God as well. Since there was no time for troubleshooting and fixing it during worship might distract rather than help worship. I thought that it was the best thing to do. Leb agreed and just put down my sticks and worship God. Leb was very kind to be so ready to help out and pat me on the shoulder after he told the band that I was not going to play anymore. Thanks Leb! 🙂

Then one more thing that just made me laugh a bit. After Leb told the rest of the band what to do, he told me to just worship. I was once again reminded of what Nell said during the first set that I served in. “Just Worship”. It was something that I held on to closely. Back when I was that panicky drummer that freaks out over everything single detail of the set, afraid that something will go wrong(and it did), Nell advised me to “Just Worship”. Stop freaking out and have faith in God. That set was really memorable. I remembered having a conversation with a dear friend and she told me that she could never forget the first time she expressed worship differently as well. Today, when everything went wrong, the advise given to me once again was to “Just Worship”. Trust God and have faith in Him, let Him and not you do the work. And I did. I give thanks.

Honestly, it was a good set even though I couldn’t play much. The band recovered and pieced together a very nice arrangement of the worship songs! What was my role then? I am a worshipper. I often forget that. That I am first a worshipper then a drummer. It is a lesson I need to swallow! 🙂 Like Esna said, when everything else you are comfortable about worship is gone, are you still able to worship? For me, my greatest expression of worship right now is drums. I really do enjoy worshiping the Lord with my instrument! 🙂 now with it gone, will I still be able to worship? Honestly, I was distracted. Do I go down? Do I stay here? Do I off the drum triggers and play the pads? I decided not to play a thing. This was mainly because I was scared that if I off the drum set during the set it will pop again. Apart from that, I decided to do what I normally do off stage.

The reason I named this segment “Worship on/off Stage” was because I realised that I had a responsibility as a worship leader to lead on and off stage. My thought process was that if you want a certain result, you be the example, you be the leader. So if you want the congregation to jump during worship, you yourself have to jump during worship. You want the congre to clap, you have to clap. You want the congre to sing, you have to sing. Hence, I always pull my boys along to the front to worship, jump even though no one is jumping and initiates clapping. I am glad to the see the fruits of my labour. Today my boys came to the front, without me pushing them to the front, smiled at me when I looked at them! 🙂 I am so glad that I brought them to the front and worshipped with them!

This time, it was rather different, I mean, right now I am worshipping facing the congre and I just feel a bit inadequate and out of place! However, since the situation called for it, I wi just worship God with all I can do. If I can’t play drums, I will sing then! 🙂 Thank You Lord, for such a nice object lesson! 🙂

Lord, treat my heart and teach my heart to be more of a worshipper! Thank You Father!

-Amen-

-Kelvin-

Leave a Reply

