=276= Comfort Songs: Oh My Dear

Oh My Dear by Tenth Avenue North
I called you up, you were in bed,
Could barely make out the words that you said
But you wanted to see me instead,
So I got dressed
And I stepped out into the snow,
And walked for a mile or so
Felt the rush of blood come from the cold in my chest

Well, you finally came to the door,
And we talked for an hour or more
Until I asked if you would stay up ’til four,
And you said, “That’s fine.”
But you said, “There’s something I have to say,
And I can’t because I’m just so afraid.”
And so I held you as you started to shake that night

Oh, my dear, I’ll wait for you
Grace tonight will pull us through
Until the tears have left your eyes
Until the fears can sleep at night
Until the demons that you’re scared of disappear inside
Until this guilt begins to crack
And the weight falls from your back
Oh, my dear, I’ll keep you in my arms tonight

You slowly lifted your head from your hands
You said, “I just don’t think that you’ll understand.
You’ll never look at me that way again
If you knew what I did.”

And so your tears fell and melted the snow
You told me secrets nobody had known
But I never loved you more, even though
Now I knew what you did

Oh, my dear, I’ll wait for you
And grace tonight will pull us through
Oh, my dear, I’ll wait for you
And grace tonight will pull us through
Until the tears have left your eyes
Until the fears can sleep at night
Until the demons that you’re scared of disappear inside
Until this guilt begins to crack
And the weight falls from your back
Oh, my dear, I’ll keep you in my arms tonight

Until the tears have left your eyes
Until the fears can sleep at night
Until the demons that you’re scared of disappear inside
Until this guilt begins to crack
And the weight falls from your back
Oh, my dear, I’ll keep you in my arms tonight
I’ll keep you in my arms tonight

~

Well, This song has brought much comfort to me in this crazy period. Really amazing! Then, I was just on Spotify listening to Charlie Lim. Then, I simply went to Twin Forks. WOW! I thought i could not be blown away even more by their four songs. Who would have thought their slow songs were SOOOOOO FREAKING GOOOD? :DDDDD I really had goosebumps listening to them! Just WOW! Just check them out! They are AMAZING!

Plans For Ya by Twin Forks
Cycle a chord or two,
Sitting out thinking of you
Scribble something down quick,
Trying to make the words stick
I’ll be done a quarter of three,
Would you like to have a drink with me?
Gonna say some things when I get home,
Things I don’t say in the microphone.

Chorus:
I’ve got plans for you, oooh (x3)
I’ve got plans for you
I’ve got such big plans for you

Should’ve heard my first set
Might have been my best yet
The second two were pretty loose,
Drifted off dreaming of you.

Voice is a bit hoarse, throat is a touch sore.
Might have flubbed a few lines,
I’ve heard that no one really minds.

Chorus:
I’ve got plans for you, oooh (x3)
I’ve got such big plans for you

If we keep working we can make it out of this place,
I can keep on working for as long as it takes.
Cause I’ve got plans for you, oooh,
Cause I’ve got plans for you.

If we keep working we can make it out of this place,
I can keep on working for as long as it takes,
Cause I’ve got plans for you, ooooh.
I’ve got plans for you.
I’ve got such big plans for you (x2)

Cycle a chord or two, sitting around thinking of you.
Scribble something down quick, trying to make the words stick.

Done by Twin Forks
Just a stone’s throw from the old place
Where the brave face she carved from bone
That’s where she left me, left me right here
Without protest, what’s done is done
What’s done is done

Been a long time, but it feels right
And when it feels right, it’s good to find
And I found it, found it right back
Me and the old place, what’s done is done
What’s done is done

Just a stone’s throw from the old place
Ain’t no face, ain’t no face
I’m staying, staying right here
Say no face, being alone

A bit of bad luck, about a rock gut
Fight is back foot, what’s gone is gone
Then I found out, found out right here
Won’t you come back? What’s done is done
What’s done is done

Leave a Reply

