=373= Worship On/Off Stage: Weekend

I mentioned in cell that I was glad to have a break from ministry in this season. I mean, yeah, I love serving God and his people, but I haven’t taken a break since I was 17, so having a break from ministry this time was quite great!

However this weekend just made me so encouraged and have such a strong desire to serve again.

This weekend, I played for Elevate service and did sound engineering for Emerge. God ministered to me in both areas.

For playing Cajon at Elevate, it was interesting. I was so off form I tell you. My time keeping was like water. That isn’t good at all! However, beyond that, there is a sense of repentance in my soul when I worshipped together with the congregation and team. I really miss that feeling of worshiping God on stage on drums. I guess some things just cannot be expressed in words, but can be done with song and worship.

For sound engineering, I have been learning a lot! Like I tried to patch the Avioms properly and actually managed to do it! I now know how to Dante Patch the Auxes and direct outs to the avioms, which I my case is a big thing for me because I always wanted to know, but never really got to it!

Then I think I just done my best mix so far, this week! Like apart from the absolute fail in the video sound thingy, the worship mix was good! I did something stupid though; I accidentally DCA Grouped the Keys into the Instrument Reverb channel. I was like, why are the keys so soft? Then I only realised it after worship ended… -sigh-

However, I think I supported the band pretty well as a sound engineer in both sound effects like reverb and delays and like managing the mix, to help boost the sound when they are trying to build up and go somewhere high dynamically! And soften the sound when they are going into a gentle moment.

I catch myself describing music and moments recently, like, “more gentle” “darker” etc etc. This is because I realised that in music, apart from the technical side, there is the mood/feel side. I think capturing the mood/feel is more important than capturing the grooves accurately. That is why musicians like Josh can play many variations of the same groove without thinking and still sound good. 

Of course in a good mix, there is also a good band. Today’s band performed well in ministering to the congregation, worshiping God and leading them to worship! Kudos to them! All the non-CAMY people are progressing well! Proud of them! 🙂 Daniel, if you ever read this, good job today. Sure, time keeping still needs to be worked on, but it is the worship part of playing the instrument that is really the most important! Seeing you giving your best was very inspiring! Jiayou Bro! 

I realised that what I think in my head is weird and it is funny because the kids in Emerge actually liked it. Like Javier mentioned like I got them all to try to fit in the two rectangles during the outreach last week. Then Crystal mentioned that I got them all into the square that had the flower last week too! Then today, to get them into a circle, I continuously chanted “circle” and that got all of the kids to say circle with me as well. Then I used my hands to tell them the volume of the “circle”, you know like a “conductor” aHahahaha! I catch myself acting out scenes that I find funny too. I don’t know, I think my brain is just built to think weird things, the kids just happens to like it. It feels good to have all that weirdness out though! 🙂 And guys, it is a matter of perspective alright! Some people call it weird, some people call it funny, amazing and creative! Come on guys, just use the words with more syllabus! 😂

So yeah! Let me learn as much as I can and do as much as I can! 🙂

Very thankful for my Bro, Jun Kang. He is amazing I tell you, his heart is so inspiring and his playing has been improving SO much! He told me that Josh is going to go back to G2 for a while because of a lack there! Of course he told me to come back soon and all, but he said that he also don’t mind tanking by himself at G1! Very thankful for a Bro that I can trust and help me, that has such a good heart for the ministry and Lord! 🙂

Thank God for the freedom to do both ministry and work without much interference from either! I am very thankful for the worship atmosphere and the Emerge leaders and program. Though I still do find it limiting, I think that they have given me a lot more time to think about my lesson and like allowed me to freely go for internship!

So yeah! Thank God for so much this week! 🙂 I am happy! Going to serve again next week! Haha! Hopefully it will be good!

Ok, enough of me! Readers, please text me so I can catch up with you! 🙂

-Kelvin-