=456= Words of Joy: Pre-Enlistee IPPT

For those who have no idea, I had spent the past one month training for today. My Pre-Enlistee IPPT! Basically, if I could pass this, I could have a two month cut in my National Service! It isn’t because that I hate serving my country ok! Nothing could be further from the truth! It is my honour to serve my country! Oh how I give thanks that God has blessed me with this country. With such peace and security, it will be my privilege to protect it!

Honestly, even if I didn’t pass this, I would be ok with it! It will just be two more months of training to be fit and I will get paid anyway.

However, with this two extra months, I will be able to do quite a bit more! Like find a job, travel etc etc! πŸ™‚

I really wanna go O with PsM!

So I really wanted this extra two months so that I can get quite a bit more done!

So it all began when I decided to meet EnMing, Daniel, Jun Kang about like three or four weeks back. I told them that my NAPFA was like in less than a month’s time, on 24 November. So EnMing made a schedule for me, so I would do like 50push-ups, 50 sit-ups Everyday. At least 2.4km running twice a week!

I managed to do it faithfully every week! However, I think my push-ups are still quite bad. Like I can get quantity over the day, but not subsequently! So when I tried just now, it was just… 😭

However, because of this, I really gained a bit more upper body strength. (Though, it is really a little) But my abdomen muscle really strengthened!

It was really tiring and tough.

I am not a sportsmen!

The most I ever was, was a swimmer, marathon runner or a cyclist and all I ever did was for leisure and hobby.

So when I started this regime, it was torturous. Absolutely torturous. My arms would ache everyday and at one point my calves were aching for one whole day.

Running 2.4km came as a HUGE shock to me. When I first started, I could get 11 minutes 28 seconds.


However, that was without doing push-ups and sit-ups before running.

So when I tried together, GOODNESS… SOOO difficult! My time plummeted to 13 minutes 59 seconds. 


That totally freaked me out. Seriously. I knew I had to train together now, if I don’t, I won’t be able to perform as well.

Hence I attempted again. I improved only slightly, 13 minutes 35 seconds. 


It was this day that I bumped into my Boys’ Bridgade Seniors. Thank God I bumped into them! They were God-sent! They were chatting and talking to me about army/uni/work life and we talked about IPPT. At that point, I had already finished the run. They asked if I ran in intervals. I knew about the interval training thing, but I never knew how to do it practically.

They told me to try to run one round 1 minute 40 seconds. Then rest. Then run again. That resulted in this!


It is my best time, but this is intervals! Not counted!

So I tried again the next day morning!


HORRIBLE time! I mean for internal running, because I was honestly, SOOO tired.

Then when I got to school, the whole day was just aching calves. Thank God that my legs recovered two days later for today.

Today, eating anything was horrible. I wast actually hungry, but I had to force myself to eat something. I REALLY wanted to eat Chilli, but I cannot, so I am really sad. Dried wanton Hor fun with no Chilli is NOT NICE AT ALL… 😭

Actually after this one month of training, not doing push-ups or sit-ups two days before the test actually felt weird! Haha, maybe I would continue to train after this!

So what happened was this.

We reached the test site early. Changed into our clothes. Tested our height and weight and we registered.

Thank goodness we were together.

We did the three stations that didn’t mattered first. So honestly, I didn’t really put my best in them, because I REALLY wanted to save energy for the three most important ones!

Push-ups. Cries. ARGHHHH. Stupid. I did 22 push-ups. That was like 30/40 seconds into the minutes. When going up from my 22nd, the strength from my arms left me. I was only halfway up, but my arms locked in place because I didn’t have strength to push anymore. Then my knees touched the floor. 😦 I trained so hard… 😦 oh well!

Sit-ups, now we are talking! HAHA! My partner did 38. When it was my turn, the instructor cheered me on! When I heard him count down, I knew I had to go a bit more, I pushed and pushed on and I got, 52!!!!! WHOOO! Proper ones! Elbows to knees, without any bad form! Personal best! 😁

Then the run. Oh man. HAHA. I was like out of breath and thirsty at this point. I saw my score and I had 33/50 from the two stations. So all I needed was 28 more points to pass. I didn’t know why, I didn’t check the time that would be, I guess, I thought that it would limit me. Like, if I thought that I had a safety net, I won’t have done the whole thing better!

So this is another thing that I give thanks for. As our numbers were 31-40, we weren’t the first to run and that gave us time to rest and hydrate. That gave us a good 15-20 minutes to rest. That was honestly enough. My breathing and heartbeat got back to normal and I am calm again. I managed to drink enough water so that my throat won’t be dry.

Then when we ran, I was just so happened to be in the front row. So we started. I ran, I slowed myself down because I knew that I was running too fast and would burn out. So I paced. I thought that I would be a bit breathless by the first half of the first round, but I wasn’t! I was thinking, wow, My seniors’ advice to run in intervals was really good! Then I finished the first round with 1 minute 40 seconds together with JJ.

I was honestly thinking of having JJ as my pacer because he is a marathon runner and knows how to pace. However, with me in front, I couldn’t. I had to pace myself. Then as more rounds passed, I found myself surprised that JJ was not behind me. I started being surprised that I am actually going through the run quite well. None of my classmates were in front of me. I really expected Janzen and JJ to be in front of me, because one is a dancer and the other is a marathon runner. In fact, I think there were only 1-4 people from my group that was in front of me. I honestly cannot remember who is in my group or not, I was too focused on running and pacing myself that I didn’t notice.

So I just ran. The last round. I decided to do something different; I increased the stride of my running and forced myself to run faster. At the bend, I heard from behind me, this guy started to sprint. At the back of my head I went, “NO! I will not let you beat me at the last 100m!”

Hence, I began to sprint as well. I sprint out and I ended the run before him. I stopped my watch timer at 11 minutes 18 seconds because I took several seconds to rest and respond. I am faster than all my classmates. Janzen, quickly joined at 11 minutes 30 seconds. JJ came in 12 minutes! My actual recorded time was 11 minutes 13 seconds! 

PRAISE THE LORD!

I mean really! Honestly!

This is actually my best time in ever! REALLY!

In secondary school, I remembered the best I ever gotten was 12 minutes+. In my training, the best I ever gotten was 13 minutes+. Never in my life had I gotten a time like this that would get me the extra 36 points I needed.

In fact, I think that the board was outdated or I read it wrong, I actually have another point because of sit-ups.

Hence, I finished the whole Pre-Enlistee IPPT with 70 points, 9 points more than what was need to get that 2 months off!

Praise the Lord!

If He didn’t provide the three brothers that would encourage me during the long training regime. If He didn’t provide my BB seniors in time. If He didn’t provide me with the rest time in between stations. If He didn’t provide encouragement through the people around me and the three other brothers taking the test with me, I probably wouldn’t have been able to get the pass I needed!

So yeah! I am very thankful! πŸ™‚


Above is a photo of us after the run! All sweaty and tired! It had been much fun! πŸ™‚

However, I needed to rush home because of dinner at my grandmother’s place. So I went off, a bit tired and hungry. Thank God that I didn’t eat my breakfast this morning and bought carrot cake. I could eat the Matcha red bean Swiss roll for a bit of sustanence!


 Then on the way back, I found Aaron Kok’s twin! HAHAHA!


Over all, I am actually very satisfied with my results!

  • 22 Push-ups: 11 points
  • 52 Sit-ups: 23 points
  • 11 minutes and 13 seconds: 36 points
  • Total: 70 points!

Thank God for all the favour He had thrown my way! πŸ™‚

Thank you Father!

-Amen-

-Kelvin-

Leave a Reply

